Meet Jennifer Brown!

Hi all!

We have the pleasure of Author Jennifer Brown’s company today. Jennifer is the author of The Edge of Springwood series and if you have not read the two books available then you are sorely missing out!  So lets get to know Jennifer a little better…

 

So Jennifer,  when did you know that you wanted to be a writer? Was there a single moment of clarity or did the knowledge just creep up on you? I think I’ve known I wanted to be a writer since third grade, the bug grabbed me in the midst of an assignment my reading teacher gave us. There’s really nothing else I wanted to be, at least up until that point in third grade.

Tell us about your writing schedule. Do you write everyday? At the weekends? Or like me – whenever you get the chance? I do keep a writing schedule, but I don’t write everyday. I set a schedule to avoid burnout, and keep myself disciplined and paced, and make it random. At the most, I write about three days a week. Also, if I am having a bad day, it gives me something to look forward to the next day. 🙂 But I also do it because I am the only driver where I live.

What inspires you? Wow. There is so much, and in different ways. This Malaysian plane story has captured my interest although I pray for the families of the passengers and can’t imagine what they are going through. I was actually inspired by a local story last year involving the three girls in Cleveland that were held captive for ten years, as they were released and am working on a side project loosely based around it. Anyone who overcomes adversity and stands up for what they believe in inspire me.

Where did you get the idea for The Edge of Springwood – how was it born? The characters were born in a storyline I developed back in the 90’s. Around five or six years ago I got an idea to bring them back, thinking how cool it would be if Jacob Barnes, the oldest Barnes sibling were mayor. Everything else just fell into place as I wrote it, like it was meant to be. 🙂

If you could choose any book in the world to have written which one would it be and why? As much as I love some of my fellow author’s work, I am content with what I have written and would never choose another book to claim. There’s just too much of a spiritual connection when you work on a book and I wouldn’t trade that for anything.

If you could be any character from a book who would it be and why? Well, the only one I have recently read that even remotely had a life I couldn’t complain about would be Anastasia Steele.  I think I prefer having a job in publishing and lot of sex, over turning up missing or dead.

What advice would you give to other writers out there who are thinking of self publishing their work? Do all the research you can before you decide on that option. There are good companies out there who will publish your work and save you some money, but with self publishing you do retain more control over the process.

Who is, or are, your favourite author(s)? I love Linwood Barclay novels, he hasn’t come out with a book I don’t like since 2007.

Do you write for a specific genre or do you like to dabble in several? I mainly write suspense, but wouldn’t rule out another genre in the future if I come up with a great idea.

Okay some quick fire questions. Don’t think to hard just answer.

Super Villain or Super Hero? Super Villian

Ice-cream or chocolate? Chocolate

Beach or the Alps? Beach

Edward Cullen or Lestat? Neither.

Keep the One Ring or throw it in Mount Doom? Uh, I don’t know. lol

Audio or Paperback? Paperback

Horror or Romance? Both

Phew! Okay that was fun!

 

Some more info about Jennifer:

Jennifer Brown

Jennifer Brown lives in Springfield Ohio, and has written since third grade. She was taught to read at an early age and fell in love with books, mainly mysteries. Her love of books grew, and in the summer before she started high school she wrote her longest story, halfway filling an old school notebook. In high school she started to enter writing contests, and in her junior and senior years joined the Herald staff becoming entertainment editor over her high school newspaper.
After graduating, with a few writing contest awards under her belt she attended college a year later, and was urged by her English instructor to join the college paper. She did, writing a few reviews of restaraunts and movies, as well as writing a review of her first Alanis Morissette concert. A few years later she was asked to take the position of entertainment editor.

At 38,  Jennifer has written several stories and has many more in store for readers.  When she is not writing she likes reading, working on computer graphics, editing photos, listening to music, and brainstorming for new ideas!

 

The Edge of Springwood - Twisted Revenge

The Edge of Springwood - Burned by Deceit

Amazon UK

Amazon US

If you want to keep up with what Jennifer is up to then here are some useful links:

Facebook like page: www.facebook.com/InJensWords

 

 

 

 

 

About amoscassidy

Hello, we're Amos Cassidy, a pair of budding writers with imaginations that won't quit and a bunch of stories waiting to be told. So we write, one tale at a time. Come peek into our heads, yeah, its a little cluttered but by no means boring. We hope you enjoy your visit. Amos Cassidy

Posted on March 18, 2014, in NEWS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

